Canadian Travelling to LA - Recommendations and feedback?

Hey guys,

I’m going to be in LA next week and I’ve done some research on places to eat, largely based on a thread on here from 3 years ago (Former Dallas Chowhound Travelling to LA). I was wondering if there was anything that you might suggest based on my list, or swap out?

I do have a few caveats… mainly that I won’t have a car because I absolutely detest driving so I will be relying mainly on public transit. I’m planning to meander around DTLA, Hollywood, Echo Park/Silver Lake and Santa Monica/Venice Beach while i’m there for 3 days so my food itinerary reflects that a bit.

The other is that I’m not interested so much in Japanese, Korean and Chinese food as my family is from Hong Kong and we’ve got these cuisines covered in Toronto. I’m more intrigued by Mexican as we only have a few notable places in my city. I’m also an avid baker so i’m always in the mood for pastries (but not a fan of typical American desserts like donuts…) and breads, particularly rye.

With this in mind, I’ve drawn up this potential list:

Thai:
Luv2Eat (undecided whether i should brave “thai spicy” level)
Issan station

Bakeries:
Gjusta
Pitchoun

Ice cream/Dessert:
Saffron & Rose
Mashti Malone
Mikawaya (ok the one japanese exception!)

Mexican:
Guerilla Taco
Leo’s Taco Truck
Guisados

Misc:
Grand Central Market - undecided what to try in here exactly, heard about Wrexler, Eggslut?
Attari Sandwich Shop

Oh and i haven’t decided if it’s worth “using” a meal to eat at In’ and Out. We don’t have this in Canada but at the end of the day it’s a burger which isn’t something i ever crave compared to foods from various other cuisines that I’d be able to try. Unless it’s life-changing and will change my mind about burgers? I don’t know…

Any feedback/thoughts/comments are appreciated.

Broken Spanish

salt & straw

mcconnell’s
Burger at belcampo will change your mind about burgers

5 Likes