Hellooo, Portland! Mr Taster, formerly of the Los Angeles Chowhound Tasters, is here

Looks like I’m the first one to the party. Welcome. Thanks, me.

For those of you who don’t know me, I fell in love with Chowhound in the early days of 2003. The resident Los Angeles hounds educated and informed me about all manner of regional, non-American cookery, and it’s been a crazy, wild ride ever since. I’ve since spent about a year and a half traveling through SE Asia, China and Taiwan with my wife, who I met back in 2004. She’s from Taiwan, and my then-newfound interest and education in regional Chinese cookery sparked a connection. In many ways, she was the key that helped me to unlock the less accessible mysteries of LA’s Chinese San Gabriel Valley, and that curiosity led to where I am today. Which is to say, an overinformed, opinionated critic of Chinese food with a breadth of experience to draw upon, though I am no expert. To some extent, I know what the Chinese expectations are, and can parse why things are presented or prepared a certain way, which may run afoul of non-Chinese expectations. I do speak and read some Mandarin, though I’m not fluent.

But in Portland, a town not exactly known for it’s cultural diversity (nor for it’s breadth of Chinese cuisine), I’ve found there’s not that many people like me. (If you’re out there, please contribute here!)

I’ve encountered people in other food boards that are unaware and/or uninterested in learning about regional Chinese cookery, instead happy to sing the praises of places whose food would not stand up to any level of Chinese scrutiny…