Instant Pot - Questions, Techiniques & Results

I thought this may be a fun thread to start since I’m new to the game.
I’ve done a few things with the Instant Pot by now. But in my rush to get out the door, I forgot to defrost some beef to make beef and vegetable soup later. Can I still make beef and vegetable soup with the frozen beef chunks? If so, what settings and how long would I need to cook everything? I’ve read some articles about this and some folks seem to think it’s okay, but I’m more to trust this crowd than some random blog posts.
Thanks!

I made beef stew in 25 minutes. I think you’re supposed to add 10 minutes for frozen meat.

1 Like

Fantastic! Thanks, @Bookwich! I was afraid I might have to stop at the store on the way home from work.

May I add a question?

I have a slow cooker and a pressure cooker. I ‘feel’ like I don’t need or can’t justify one of these. Your thoughts? TIA

Just bought one. Made white rice last night and came out much better than our 7 year old fancy Japanese rice cooker which was on its last legs. Our 5 and 7 year old kids thought so too.

How much rice and water did you use?

My wife made the rice and she followed the instructions in the booklet. The ratio is 1:1.

We made 2 cups of white rice and it took us about 20 minutes to cook using the normal rice function. Some people do not use the normal rice function and time it on their own.

1 Like

Mine never comes out right. Then again, I’m always trying to make Japanese or black or brown rice, so it gets weird.

Our rice was Japanese purchased from H-mart. The rice came out a little on the wet side. Our friends who use the InstaPot daily told us it takes some tinkering to find the right timing for certain dishes.

Forgot to mention that I also have a rice cooker. I use 2:1 water to rice. Interesting.