Riedel alternatives

I’m no expert in stemware, other than I know when I’m drinking out of something I don’t like. Riedel strikes me as, say, the Henckels or Wusthof of stemware, i.e., they are fine enough, but you’re paying a lot for marketing and the brand name. But unlike knives (where I can go to Hida Tool in Berkeley and get a chef’s knife that makes me feel all special inside with that first slice), I’ve not a clue about where you get similar for stemware; i.e., equal or better quality than the big name at a better price. What sayeth the experts?

Riedel is way more overpriced than Henckels or Wusthof and they promote pseudo-scientific nonsense.

I’ve been using Schott Zweisel Tritan for ten years. They’re much more break-resistant than other glasses I’ve used. On wood they just bounce. If we didn’t have tile floors in the kitchen they probably wouldn’t break at all. No damage from the dishwasher. The ones I buy are $7 if you shop around.

http://www.klwines.com/p/i?i=1021409

1 Like

Just get one.
Taste side-by-side with any other brand.
Then we talk.

1 Like

Do a triangle test with two wine glasses of one type and one of another, blindfolded, with someone else holding the glass to your lips.

I also use the Schott Zweisel. Pretty much the same, a touch thicker on the rim, but at $7-10 a glass, it doesn’t hurt too bad when you break them. They also seem to be a little more sturdy.

The glass that IS worth paying for are the Zaltos. Those things are amazing but pricey.

I’ve used the Zaltos in restaurants. They’re fun but seem like a pointless expense to me. I’d rather spend my money on what I put in the glass.

Costco had some of this Mondavi/Waterford glasses recently. Worth hunting them down. I thought they were a very nice Riedel alternative for not a lot of $ (much cheaper than the official site price)

http://www.waterford.com/collections-a-z/robert-mondavi