Tips for smoking our first brisket?

We’re going to be smoking our first beef brisket tomorrow. It’s about 6# with no fat cap to speak of. Any tips would be appreciated. TIA

Start as early as possible, possibly tonight. The more ‘lower and slower’, the better. Get a good seasoning recipe, and give it a lot of love. You also want to have a drip pan, so that the fat dripping doesn’t produce acrid smoke. Some guys like to put apple juice in their drip pans as well.

Thanks! Also forgot to mention that it’s a Bradley electric smoker. I’ve read a good bit and people seem a bit ‘nervous’ about briskets. We’ll see.

Oh. I’ve never used an electric smoker before - so take my recs with a grain of salt, in that case.

Oh, I think what you wrote was right-on. It’s just a lot easier to maintain a constant temp for a long time.

Wow . You’ve taken on the brisket . I’m still waiting to do one . bravo … I’m guessing 1 1/2 - 2 hours per pound . You can also use the Texas crutch of wrapping it . Find the information online . foodsmokr.com This might help out also . A good starting point .

Here is what I did.

1. Salt and pepper
  2. Water pan for sure
  3. Spritz every hour (apple cider vinegar or apple juice is my choice)
  4. Position the brisket with the hottest part of the smoker towards the point end
  5. Wrap in foil once you get the desired color and add 2-3 tablespoons of your spritz
  6. I don’t use a thermometer (I just pick it up and feel it if has a jiggle) but you can use an instant read thermometer if you want
  7. After you take it out of the smoker, wrap it in a kitchen towel and let it rest for at least an hour, preferably two hours. This is key otherwise the brisket will be dry. And slice the meat as needed, the meat will oxidize and get dry and hard sitting too long.