Trystero Fresh Roasted Coffee Beans High Quality

I’ve been buying roasted beans weekly from Greg, who runs Trystero out of his garage in Atwater, for about six months and I told him I’d try to write up a short article about his coffee roasting for FTC. I am now pretty confident in the work he does, and the “product,” and so feel on pretty firm ground recommending his beans, at least to espresso drinkers. These are not like commercial beans you get at TJ or Costco, Starbucks or Peets or even the higher end shops like Intelligentsia. [So-called espresso beans in most outlets are over-roasted, burnt junk. And the beans that aren’t burnt are usually pretty old, so taste and liveliness are compromised.]

In fact, though I’ve been making espresso at home on a Pasquini for more than 20 years, I felt I never received the full benefit from the machine until I used Greg’s beans. (I also bought beans from Pasquini as well, and felt they were overpriced. Until last year, I would sometimes buy them anyway, but their last bag was stale and tasteless and I told myself “never again.” They weren’t burnt, but they weren’t flavorful.)

Greg runs the roasting process in such a way that you can pick up the coffee less than a day after it’s been roasted, and mostly less than eight or ten hours after roasting. So the modifier “fresh” is actually meaningful when it comes to these beans and that freshness, plus the type and quality of the bean and the roasting, make all the difference. I will say it is something of a pain to drive from where we live to pick up the bags of coffee every Wednesday (between 10 and 1, I think), but the taste and richness of the espresso are way better than anything I’ve had in so-called upscale coffee shops here in the states, and better too than anything I tasted in any Italian espresso bar (in the regions of Milano, Firenze, Roma.) So, to me, the drive is worth it.