Where to eat in SF?

Might be heading to San Francisco in a few months, staying near City Hall / Downtown SF.

1. What are some Must Visit Restaurants in the area for great food but casual?

2. What are some Must Visit Restaurants in the area that’s great food but special occasion / dress up?

I’ve read @BradFord’s recommendation for Saison and Meadowood (thanks).

@beefnoguy any recs?

Thanks!

I will respond later tonight.

Sticking in SF proper? Or, will you visit Napa area or East Bay at all? Because Meadowood is kind of far away.

What do you consider Downtown SF / City Hall?

Union Square area, Civic Center, and FiDi would be what I consider DTSF. Is that what you had in mind?

Hi @ipsedixit, @BradFord,

Thanks. Total newbie regarding geography in SF! :sweat_smile: I would say:

Near City Hall, within reasonable Uber distance (say, 15 - 20 minutes out)? I’ll have no car.

City Hall is also a close walk to Tenderloin and Hayes Valley. A bit of SOMA is walkable, too.

If you’re Ubering, 15-20 minutes can get you pretty far if it’s not a trafficked time. Eg Divisadero is doable, even North Beach or Chinatown (again, not during a trafficked time…avoid Bush st downtown area at 4pm on weekdays…)

1 Like

Is Tartine still the best for Croissants? Is there any ideal time to go (without crazy lines)? Thanks!

1 Like

In/around FiDi and Soma (and your willingness to travel), I would look at these

Bellota
L’ardoise Bistro
Casa Flores
Californios
Quince
Saison
Lazy Bear

1 Like

No. Go to Arsicault Bakery (Arguello Blvd in Inner Richmond, sort of NW of FiDi). The hype is real.

1 Like

I’m putting Arsicault Bakery on my list when I drive up to the city . Perfect it’s right off Geary . It will be my first stop in the morning . Thanks

1 Like