Affordable Omakase for a beginner?

Heading to LA in a few months, and I’ve heard a lot of of great things about the sushi here. I’m very new to omakase, and have only had it once (Kanoyama in New York). Because of my limited experience, I’m looking for a cheaper place for beginners, preferably under or around $40. I won’t be eating at the bar (traveling with 2 others that aren’t super big fans of sushi), so I need a place that serves omakase platters and also has cooked dishes like unagi don or teriyaki. I’ve researched a few places already, and I’d love info/feedback on those places and prices if ya know em.

Kanpachi-I believe $35?

Kantaro

Sushi Go 55 (I’ve heard it was around $50?)

Sushi Enya

Hama Sushi

Sen Nari

EDIT:
Narrowed it down to Kanpachi, Shunji Lunch, or Nozomi.

Also any other suggestions are welcome. Thanks!

If you are on a strict budget like that there is nothing wrong with ordering off a menu. My recommendation would be to go someplace like Hide Sushi (cash only) on sawtelle. Good bang for your sushi dollar. Avoid Sushi Spot.

1 Like

Just don’t want to spend as much because I am new to the whole thing-probably wouldn’t be worth it to spend a lot of money on my 2nd time.

I’m definitely not one of the sushi connoisseurs on the board, but the rec I got when I asked a similar question was to perhaps try one of Sushi Tsujita lunch specials (nigiri bowls), which are around $40. I think Kiriko also has lunch specials for $40. Haven’t tried either myself yet.

Sushi Spot is disgusting and foul.

2 Likes

Hi @NitWit,

Welcome to LA! :slight_smile:

I’d second @paranoidgarliclover’s suggestion. IIRC, Shunji (one of the best in town), as a Lunch Special Omakase… I think it’s like $30 or $40 and you get a selection of sushi and some sashimi.

Paging @theoffalo @CiaoBob @J_L @Porthos to confirm. :slightly_smiling: