Best of 2 Chinese Specialties: Peking Duck and XLB?

I’ve been perusing FTC threads and have not found definitive answers to the questions:

1. Best XLB? I have been to Din Tai Fung (albeit in South Coast Plaza) and liked it but was not “amazed.” I have no other experience with XLB so maybe I just don’t have a refined palate when it comes to this specialty. All the same, I would love recommendations on authentic, delicious XLB. I looked at another thread, XLB's (xiao long bao), but I couldn’t find a majority consensus, prompting me to ask again here.

2. Best Peking Duck? I last had this dish in the Bay Area where I loved it. But in LA, I see most places serve the duck with bao buns instead of the thin wrappers, which confounds me and makes want to avoid those places. I have heard Meizhou Dongpo is a good option but am looking for cheaper but still authentic options.

Bonus points if there are any places in/near Orange County but I’m open to all of Greater LA!

I apologize if I overlooked any past threads that already answered these questions. Appreciate any suggestions! :grinning:

2 Likes

Duck House in Monterey Park serves peking duck w/ the thin wrappers. It’s been years since I’ve eaten there but I remember the duck was very good. You do have to order the duck in advance iirc.

1 Like

The mantou buns are a California thing, or probably more accurately a Cantonese thing given the historic and deep Cantonese bent to Chinese food in LA and SF. Indeed until relatively recently, the thin wrappers were pretty much nonexistent in California.

my parents still vastly prefer the buns over the pancakes.

I like the buns when they’re quality, but prefer the pancakes all other times…

also, obligatory:

14 Likes

For Peking Duck, Happy Duck House in City of Industry serves duck with the thin wrappers. And it’s just over the hills from Orange County too.