Dinner tonight with The Wife™

Sorry for all these stupid posts of mine - I’m new to LA and quite lost!

Anyway - the wife and I are heading out for dinner this evening without the kids which is a rare occasion.

Where should we go? We are living in Westwood and can travel within reason.

We like fun, lively spots with good food & wine. She tends to order fish. I like steak, chops, pastas typically.

We don’t really want to wait around for a table for too long so if I can make a res somewhere that would be ideal.

Thanks!!!

westside recs:
craft
hatchet hall
tar & roses
hinoki & the bird

3 Likes

Thanks - we’ve been to Craft. It was good but I would like something a little more happening. I’ve certainly seen Tar & Roses mentioned a few times. Does it have a little more buzz than Craft?

Yes, but unfortunately I don’t think you’ll be able to get a reservation for tonight, but you can always try for the bar.

+1 for Tar & Roses
or go old school at The Galley in Santa Monica.

Hi @DrinkSmokeGolf,

We’re glad to help. :slight_smile:

@PorkyBelly’s recs are great. Some notes and other thoughts:

• Craft - Beautiful space. Classy, great New American menu. From Chef Tom Colicchio (Top Chef).
  • Tar & Roses - American Small Plates, Farmers Market driven stuff. More casual, might be busy, but great food.
  • Rustic Canyon - New American, Farmers Market-driven as well, bigger focus on vegetables (but they are delicious), but they also have meats.
  • Cassia - Southeast Asian-inspired menu, great bar program, also fresh seafood bar (oysters, shrimp, etc.).
  • Charcoal - Steaks, Fish and other dishes all grilled over open charcoal (hence the name). Nice space.
3 Likes

I forgot about Charcoal in venice. very buzzy, with fish and meat. the aged duck is excellent.

4 Likes

No worries, mon!

Hatchet Hall (tables open at 6:30pm / 9:30pm)
Rustic Canyon (tables open at 5:30pm / 10pm)
Cassia (tables open at 5:30pm / 10pm)
Republique (might be tough to get in)