Favorite restaurant to take a friend for something different

Today we took a friend to lunch at a place she had never been to. It is our go to place for a kind of cuisine many people have not tried, and a place they have not been. The place is Satdha, and the cuisine is Thai vegan. I am no expert on Thai food, but being plant based all but two meals a week, I am always on the lookout for plant-based restaurants that do not make me feel like I am in the penalty box. I will post pictures and descriptions of dishes as a reply on this thread.
My question is,
What restaurant is your favorite place to take a friend for something different; a place you think they will come back to on their own?

I’ve taken many a friend to Portsmouth in Whittier for oysters and Mexican-French fusion seafood. I’m a fan of the lobster frites, crab esquite, and the oyster Po’boy. They have a terrific charred kale salad that I adore, too. Beer and wine only. If you sit at the bar, ask for Ruben. He always ensures we have a great evening.
P.S. Those friends go back to Portsmouth on their own after their trip with me.

2 Likes

feng mao mutton kebab

will they come back? depends if you order the bull penis or not.

4 Likes

Is bull penis and caviar an alt.surf and turf?

1 Like

You had me until I read “bull penis” :rolling_eyes:. I love Feng Mao. It’s on my DoTM list.

This place is different. I was brought here years ago by my vegetarian sister. Now I take other people, and they do the same.

4 Likes

noms

Torture!

I’ve had a lot of success with taking people to TKF, Tumanyan Khinkali Factory, in Glendale which turn into repeat visits. I believe they have a lot of vegetarian choices, but less for vegans. The khinkali dumplings are very tasty, but it is the quinoa apple salad that I end up craving.

http://www.tkfrestaurant.com/

2 Likes

Bulgarini.

4 Likes

Less shock value than bovine genitalia, but something different nonetheless which my guests have loved: