I'm a Chef Who Walked Away From a Dream Restaurant. Here's Why

Millennials…

http://www.laweekly.com/restaurants/chef-ari-taymor-of-alma-will-not-open-a-new-restaurant-heres-why-8368821

3 Likes

… in spite of the immense press we received, we remained mostly empty, often cooking for just a handful of people each night.

How did that happen?

I’m imagining Ari listening to the 1992 - 1999 NIN discography as he wrote that piece.

Not sure why the ridicule in the responses above. The chef seems to be making an honest attempt to reckon with the dangers of obsessively pursuing excellence in one’s career. Dangers that I imagine exist in many professions other than cooking (investment banking and corporate lawyering come to mind).

Or maybe we’re all too hip and cynical for earnestness these days…

2 Likes

Driven people are the same in any business. Burning out is not unique to the cooking profession. (Try corporate law or finance, or the fashion industry, or the entertainment industry.)

What is difficult is the feeling of failure when one decides to step back. I wish Taymor luck and peace in his future endeavors.

5 Likes

In some ways, it is a refreshingly honest piece about the psychological turmoil one may experience while chasing greatness (or at least critical acclaim in one’s profession), maintaining it (when all others are like “who the fuck is he?”) and then being snubbed by the dining public.
OTOH, he achieved so much that others only dream of, and then either could not handle it or blew it, so why should anyone feel bad for him?

Calling off that project didn’t leave him unemployed. He just decided against opening a second restaurant.

2 Likes

I didn’t get a sense from the article that he was asking for anyone’s sympathy.

Sometimes accomplishing your life’s dream quickly and at a young age is the absolute worst thing (in a first-world way, of course) that can happen to you. JMO.

1 Like