Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant

Has anyone tried Lalibela yet? Garret Snyder has an intriguing write-up in the LA Weekly. The menu looks very promising, especially the Veggie Utopia, which contains several items you don’t usually find in veggie combos at Ethiopian places in LA.

It’s getting good write ups. We tried to go for a group birthday dinner. But they were unsure about accommodating our party. We went to Merkato instead. When we were leaving Merkato we looked in Lalibela and it was empty. If they had said yes to our party we could have filled the whole place. Oh well. Another time.

1 Like

I didn’t understand that rave review and then a two star reward. What did I miss?

I generally assume the stars are some sort of objectively calculated conclusion while the review is the critic’s emotional response. I am by no means a professional food critic, but there are places with just-okay food that I value more highly than some other places with better food. The dining experience is not all in the mouth by any means, and even what is there can skew my judgment by being unexpected or audacious. Although I really liked the food, for instance, we will never return to El Arco Iris because of two hideously misbehaving children that the manager refused to do anything about. And while the food at Amigo’s in Pasadena is just okay, we love the place above all others and will go there forever, as long as the margaritas and the jukebox stay as sweet as they are.

this concept was what i was trying to get across when i tried and failed to communicate how important the FOH employees are to me.