L'antica Pizzeria Da Michele

gnocco fritto - burrata, prosciutto di carpegna
Really good, would have been great if they dressed the dry arugula with some aged balsami.

calamari fritti
Fine

lattuga di zio adam - butter lettuce, anchovies, garlic, balsamic dressing
Fine, I wish there were more anchovies.

capesante scottate - seared scallops, cauliflower puree, black truffle
Nicely cooked scallops, but the truffle flavor came mostly from truffle oil.

margherita - tomato, fior di latte cheese, pecorino, basil
I’m not a neapolitan expert but the pizza here seemed authentic. The crust was thin and chewy (zero crisp) with medium char and had a wet/soupy center which I’m not a fan of. It was more flaccid than overcooked spaghetti, and was impossible to pick up and fold, you’ll need a knife and fork to eat the first few bites. Flavor-wise each ingredient stood on its own, sauce was bright and the cheese was creamy and milky.
It’s also bigger than expected, about 14 inches cut into 8 slices.

tiramisu

lemon tart
Okay. Crust was a bit thick.

no toto

Service was laid-back-stoner-casual and the bar lounge area felt a little clubby. Not in a big rush to go back.

9 Likes

Thanks for the report @PorkyBelly! Sounds like a safe place delivering VPN / Neapolitan style pizzas, but your comment that it was really flaccid (too soupy / wet?) is worrisome, but maybe it’s the way it’s supposed to be.

And that Margherita was $24 + tax and tip? Thanks.

1 Like

It’s not worrisome at all. It’s Neapolitan pizzasome.

2 Likes

Slicing the pizza is pandering to American expectations and makes the pie get soggy in the center.

3 Likes

I’ll just leave this here. Skip to 1:45 if you’re short on time.

3 Likes