Restaurant delivery services

I started using Doordash a couple of years ago when, due to surgery, I was unable to drive for a couple of months. I found it to be a life changer. I especially liked the fact that I could order ahead of time, not just ASAP. Thus, in the morning I would figure out what I wanted for dinner that night, punch in the time and the delivery was almost always right on time.
Lately, I have had some awful experiences with them. So, I decided to give Postmates a try. Unfortunately, they don’t provide the option of advance ordering. I did use the ASAP the other night and the ETA turned out to be correct. I also like that Postmates gives the option of tipping after the delivery has been made. Both services use real-time tracking. Postmates offers a $9.99 monthly fee option which eliminates service charge and offers free delivery on orders over $25.00
DoorDash has more user-friendly website. Have never used Uber’s service.
Would be interested in hearing other opinions of these services or alternate ones.
Thanks

3 Likes

I think Eat24 has advance ordering FWIW.

I’ve used the “order from restaurants” option on the Amazon PrimeNow app multiple times. The pros are no delivery fee - it’s part of the bundle of services that come with a (paid) Prime membership - real-time tracking and the ability to adjust your tip after the delivery has been made. The cons are limited number of restaurants and no provision for pre-ordering for delivery at a set time, unlike with their grocery delivery option.

I’ve found customer service to be excellent with PrimeNow. They give you an estimated delivery window and, if the actual delivery time is outside that window, you’re automatically given a $10 credit. They respond to emails within minutes and you can call and talk to an actual human being, imagine that!

2 Likes

DoorDash generally charges menu price + markup, in addition to delivery cost. Restaurant may or may not even know they are fulfilling a DD order.