Sushi - do you make it at home?

I don’t have access to good, fresh seafood but still enjoy a little ahi on occasion. But for those of you who love sushi and have good seafood, do you make it? It doesn’t seem like it would be that difficult. Not world class but think of all the money you’d save :smile: Just curious.

1 Like

I make it at home maybe twice a month, usually when we have dinner guests. I imagine one could save money if you just stuck to basics (rolls, a few standard ingredients). My motivation for starting to make sushi at home was to understand the cuisine more, so I try to get fish I’ve never used before, try new techniques, etc. I’m lucky to live in NYC (for now) and have access to some excellent fish markets, although the variety at markets I’ve been to in major west coast cities is typically better.

1 Like

That’s great! I think it would be super fun and definitely has a wow factor. Re the cost I just meant compared to having the same in a restaurant. Good for you. Have you shared any photos here?

The cost of home vs restaurant really depends on what kind of experience and scale you’re trying to replicate. Making 2-3 different kind of rolls (salmon, tuna, crab) for a group would certainly beat the cost of the same at a decent sushi restaurant. Trying to replicate an omakase-like experience doesn’t end up saving that much for small group. And as a home cook, it can be hard-to-impossible to source some of the ingredients that are available to a restaurant. I’ve never shared photos here before, but including some now:

!
saba-bozushi - boston mackerel “stick” roll

langostine with its eggs

sardine w/chive & grated daikon

local bonito w/chive & ginger

unagi - fresh water eel

salmon with marinated kombu seaweed

11 Likes

@jperelmuter That’s some great looking sushi, especially the boz & lango… :metal:

Have you checked these guys out? http://nishimaru-usa.com/

1 Like