Washington Post: Alaska's Snow Crabs Have Disappeared

You know how everyone’s saying “This is why we can’t have nice things?”

Here’s a nice thing we can’t have anymore. No one to blame but ourselves.

3 Likes

Happy to see that California is making it unlawful to sell gas cars starting in 2035. That’s a long way away though.

Would be interesting to see impact (relative and absolute) broken down by protein type. From what I recall, beef is far more environmentally damaging than poultry / pork. I love meat and I love beef even more, but am trying to switch consumption to chicken and pork…

1 Like

I figure the bigger the animal the bigger the problem, but I’m no expert. The article has a breakdown suggesting beef (and milk) are worst, but that could be because so many people eat and drink those things. Probably the same reason that rice is the worst plant-based food.

Probably… Also, I think they are very gassy animals, lol.

Broad categories such as “meat” and “food production” ignores radical differences among farms and ranches. Industrial producers typically have massive fossil-fuel inputs. Sustainable and regenerative farming can be carbon-neutral or even carbon-negative. Switching from factory-farmed meat to factory-made meat substitutes may reduce your carbon footprint (by a negligible amount if you ever take a plane) but it’s usually supporting the same destructive system.

unfortunately, low impact, regenerative farming/ranching raises costs to the point where, given our lack-of-social-safety-net hyper-capitalist system currently in place, food prices become out of reach to large, already underserved groups of people.