White Alba Truffle Dishes -- Los Angeles restaurants or homemade

This topic will be old hat for many of the FTCers here, but I’m a White Alba Truffle newbie and am curious what a la carte dishes you’d recommend from restos in Los Angeles. If you make truffle dishes at home, please be kind and share where you purchased the prized $$$ funghi.

I’m aware of tasting menus featuring the mushroom, but am interested in regular “A La Carte” size portions so I can enjoy at least 1/2 a dozen forkfuls or spoonfuls (b/c 1-3 bites is not enough!).

I’m planning on visiting Angelini Osteria soon to try their White Truffle Risotto and will post a pic here if I get a decent shot.

Grazie mille (TYVM) to those of you who share your truffle intel!

You just missed Sabatino’s 25% off. Urbani still has their 20% off sale I believe.

I ordered some for dinner Thursday. Don’t worry the quality and quantity will improve Nov-mid December and the sales go as deep as 50% off around Thanksgiving.

I do egg pasta tossed with butter and a touch of parmigiano reggiano. Use the water you boiled the pasta in to loosen up the noodles if it is too tight.

Also, I cheat and use the frozen lasagna sheets from Surfas and cut them into my desired thickness. It is way chewier and more al dente than regular store bought fresh egg pasta.

Use a truffle shaver (a must) and shave as thinly and as liberally as possible.

6 Likes

the beyond elusive truffle gohan.

but if you do garner a reservation for that one particular dish i mentioned please please please please invite me and save me a bar seat.

thank you.

2 Likes

kiriko’s white truffle ice cream, i just remembered. it’s pretty fucking good and it won’t break the bank, this is no Masa Takayama $150 per FUCKING scoop white truffle ice cream. but it’s damn good.

1 Like

Shunjis’ white truffle chawan mushi (sp ???) with shaved white truffles.

correction.

Shunji’s gohan is made with burgundy/black summer truffles not white Alba truffles.

1 Like