Yama Seafood, San Gabriel, what's the catch?

I’m no sushi expert but I’ve had some amazing sushi in tokyo, in hawaii and done omakase here in L.A. at Sushi Zo and Q, etc. I’ve also gone to most of the highly rated value spots in Little Tokyo like Sushi Gen, etc, which have the elusive 4.5 star out of 5 star average rating on yelp. (granted, yelp has it’s warts but it’s a great “general consensus” indicator) And I dare anyone to tell me that there’s any sushi establishment in all of Socal with the ridiculous value of Yama Seafood in San Gabriel. As someone who appreciates yet has no real idea of what makes quality sushi beyond the basics (freshness, etc) and watching Jiro dreams of sushi lol, I really wonder how Yama can source this sushi and keep the prices so low. Granted, it’s not a restuarant but a store where you simply order out but if you’re looking for overall quality/value this place simply can’t be beat. I realize San Gabriel is too far east for many of you to venture out to but for anyone who has gone and frequented this establishment I ask you, what’s the catch?

I realize its not a restaurant, the rent must not cost much and they’ve been running the business this way for many years and thus don’t feel the need to raise prices too much with the times but I’m still dumbfounded at how this place does what it does…

And for those of you who decide to make the trek out here, some tips…
Get there on off times as the wait can obviously be very long.
Whatever is out in the back for the cut rolls section is what’s available for that, however if you ask the mexican gentleman working (he does the rolls) he can sometimes make you one of their basic roll offereings or at least tell you what’s coming out next.
When you stand in line and order near the front for sashimi, whatever is out there is what’s available and the large to small sizes of the fish can be sliced when he preps it for you to take out.

Yama Seafood
911 W Las Tunas Dr
San Gabriel, CA 91776

Hours