Your best ice cream recipes and tips

An ice cream maker is on its way to my house, and I am a complete novice with making ice cream…but a real expert consuming ice cream. Do you have recipes or tips on making some fabulous ice cream? I’ve seen recipes with and without eggs. I’ve heard of some folks using the sous vide method to cook the ice cream base. Please share your wisdom.
And I saw ispe’s ice cream scoop and just ordered myself one.

Thanks!

4 Likes

What brand did you get? I’ve been thinking about picking one up.

@OCSteve We picked up the Cusinart double-freezer bowl model from Williams-Sonoma. It’s easy to store, compact, and a few friends have given us good reviews. With the E-mail coupon, it’s an additional 20% off through tonight. Cost us about $50-60.
https://www.williams-sonoma.com/m/products/cuisinart-ice-cream-maker-extra-freezer-bowl/?rm=t&cm_cat=BBP&om_mid=262601&dtm_em=526ad788f6c62a8e284e126845bf081e&cm_ite=prod2&cm_em=01%3A06BEDD8C0B4624673E88707F16DD6E4A44DA1385&tp=i-H55-Q2T-16JV-nuLVKF-1n-2ytOc-1c-Kaut-nuLc8T-1wr4LD&cm_ven=Promo&bnrid=3147652&cm_pla=2017-09-22_AbandonCart_Adhoc&vg=ffca6a6f-fc40-4894-e836-0657aae2449f
I’m more than happy to share the coupon code if you go all in today :slight_smile:

1 Like

Use full fat dairy

If you believe in using alcohol (i.e. vodka) to create a softer, creamier texture, don’t overdo it. A little bit goes a long way.

No need to scald your milk (unless you’re steeping a spice)

No need to temper your custard, esp. b/c there’s no need to scald your milk

Make sure to combine the sugar and egg yolks well (if you are making a custard-based ice cream)

Chill your ice cream base (but not necessarily overnight, that’s overkill)

Don’t overfill your ice cream maker. Make two batches over a couple days is better than making one big batch at once.

Start with a solid vanilla ice cream. Learn to make that first, and learn to make it well, before experimenting with flavors and mix-ins.