France Trip

Hola!

I will be in France for a wedding next month and wanted to see if any of les FTC’rs have any recommendations for food/drink/et cetera. I’ll be in Paris a few days, Rennes for a few more and potentially another yet-to-be-determined spot. Maybe Provence? My last time in France was when I studied abroad there, surviving on baguette/fromage/jambon/beurre, so I’m excited to be more intentional about trying out more restaurants. Probably will look for a mix of a couple higher end meals and more casual ones and a bunch of pastires.

Here are some of the places I’ve identified so far (in no particular order):

I know that I’m not going to get to all of these, and I will be leaving some open so that I can go with something that is close or looks good, but if anyone is familiar with any of the above or has any “oh damn, you gotta get a croissant here” or “if you want to experience what French cuisine is all about, go here” type places, would love to hear your thoughts.

BISOUS

Highly recommend Chez L’amis Jean. Shouldn’t be a tough res. Order a la carte instead of the tourist prix fixe. The rice pudding is a must. Quite possibly the best dessert anywhere.

Friends who visited recently had amazing meals at Passage 53 and David Toutain. 2* level food with a more casual ambiance.

Also Le Comptoir for dinner. Never managed to get in myself.

1 Like

Oh, yea. Thanks! Will definitely add Chez L’amis Jean into my plans. Passage 53 was also mentioned in that NYT article, and David Toutain looks great as well. That’s part of the problem - seems like so many good options.

It’s going to be a bit of a puzzle since I’ll be there mostly over a weekend when a lot of restaurants seem to be closed.

I enjoyed Gare au Gorille a good bit. Also loved a little neighborhood spot called Matière à by the canal. Where are you staying?

Gracias! Looks like Gare au Gorille has a great lunch deal.