Hop Woo is serving authentic Szechuan Food in the Westside

I stoped by Hop Woo restaurant tonight with my friend and discovered they had the new Szechuan menu, we tried Lazi Chicken and Zigong Ginger Frog, they were amazingly good…we could save the long drive to the SGV in the future lol!

6 Likes

Welcome to FTC!

Yes, they started this about two weeks ago. We talked about it 'cuz Gu Yi in Brentwood wasn’t so great…

2 Likes

I see. It was much better than Gu Yi and less expensive:blush:

1 Like

Thank you for posting this! I ran out as soon as I saw this post and made it to Hop Woo before they closed last night. I am no Sichaun expert (I’ve been to Chengdu Taste twice in the last five years) but I thought this was head and shoulders above most westside Chinese.

The Mapo Tofu had a decent amount of numbing, although it was interesting that they seemed to only use ground peppercorns and not whole ones, am I mistaken or do most places usually use both?

The cucumber with garlic was superb, garlicky and spicy with a nice amount of oil and vinegar to balance it, and the Lazi chicken was good although it could definitely be spicier.

The owner came up and asked us how we had heard about the new menu and said that they also owned a place in SGV called Meet With Chengdu (anyone been?). He said that the chef from MWC was in the house last night, so I don’t know if quality will keep up when he goes back to the SGV but for now it is nice to know that you can get good Chinese food without having to drive all the way to Alhambra.

7 Likes

Got delivery from here last night. Beware, the website is run by a third party, so many menu items are not on it, and they also took 45 minutes to fax the order to the restaurant, at least according to the restaurant, which made for a very long wait - 1 hour 15 min. I would call to order directly to Hop Woo.