Olsons Scandinavian Deli

Anyone here been to Olsons Scandinavian Deli?

Just by pure happenstance, I had struck up a conversation with a barista at FIKA in NYC about good Scandinavian grub, and the lady behind the counter was nice enough to suggest sandwiches, especially one called the skagen

Well, as luck would have it (there’s that happenstance thing again), I found myself running a few errands in Mid City, and instead of slumming it at Ho Ho Kitchen, I dropped into Olsons.

A Scandinavian deli in name, but a market by trade. One look at the menu, I saw that I had found my skagen, which is essentially a shrimp salad sandwich. Here, it was served on a lightly toasted brioche lobster-syle roll, split open nearly 180 degrees, and ladled with generous amounts of shrimp salad. Very reminiscent of the egg salad sandwich Euro Pane.

The shrimp was nice and firm (not mealy), and the salad was seasoned nicely with what must have been dill, lemon zest (?), and tangy sour cream. And mixed with little dabs of caviar, for that nice salty finish.

Good stuff. Destination? Hmm. Tough call. Sure beats a flight to Sweden I suppose.

Olsons Scandinavian Deli
Mid City on Pico (near Spaulding)

5 Likes

Relatively often.

My wife is Swedish we rely on Olsons for salted licorice fish and all sorts of other stuff. The haribo “matador mix” is the other favorite licorice. There’s also this salted caviar stuff that comes in a blue metal toothpaste tube that’s really nice. Lastly lots of unusual (and some very very pungent) cheeses, deli meats, breads (like the dense thin sliced pumpernickel, and variety of herring and the like. Nice gravlax sandwich too. Another item that’s good is this elderberry syrup stuff you add water to – that sort of thing is very popular over there and quite refreshing.

Lots of other good things there and the recent renovation has really improved matters – it’s now a nice place to sit and enjoy a sandwich.