The Bread Thread

First a disclaimer; I am not a professional baker, and much of the information I give here is not intended to be be-all and end-all advice. I am sure many who post here are better bread makers than I am. I have been making bread for over 40 years so here is some of what I have gleaned.
First off let me recommend three excellent books; “My Bread” by Jim Lahey, “Flour, Water, Salt, Yeast” by Ken Forkish, and “Artisan Breads Everday” by Peter Reinhart. The recipe I use most often is Ken Forkish’s White Bread with Poolish.
There are two very important elements that distinguish French, or Italian, bread from American. First, and most important, is the leavening process. Second is the baking environment.
French bread gets is wonderful flavor and texture from a long slow rise. In almost all cases it is a lean dough with no sugar or fat added. A minimal amount of yeast is added and the dough is fermented at a cool temperature. This forces the yeast to work harder and it produces an enzyme that transforms the flavor and texture of the bread. This is the key to French bread.
After the lengthy proofing the loaves are baked in a very hot oven. Key to the wonderful crust is a moist environment during the initial baking period. Professional bakers have steam injected ovens. We home cooks have to improvise to try and reproduce this.
Okay those two principles are the key. My slightly modified version of Mr. Forkish’s recipe follows:
For the initial pre-ferment (poolish)
500 g all purpose unbleached white flour (3 7/8 cups)
500 g 80 degree water (2 1/4 cups - I approximate the temp)
.4 g yeast (scant 1/8 tsp - I use Saf-Instant brand)
Mix all ingredients together, and leave at room temperature for 12 to 14 hours. When the poolish is ready it will be full of bubbles, and you will see some popping up every few seconds.
The final dough mixture:
500 g flour
250 g 105 degree water ( again I approximate the temp)