Tori! Tory! Toré!

had an incredible experience and some of the best yakitori I’ve ever had from photographer/writer and yakitori enthusiast dylan james ho of tori! tory! toré!

Dylan has eaten at hundreds of yakitoriyas throughout Japan and is completely self taught and has been honing his technique for the past three years.

tori! tory! toré! (an ode to one of dylan’s favorite r&b groupss, Toni! Tony! Toné) is a private yakitori dining experience at your own home. the host provides the drinks, outdoor space and seating and dylan and his team provides the rest.

there’s an 8 person minimum and 15 person max, it’s 200pp with the option to add A5 wagyu, uni, or amish chicken from pennsylvania. we added the amish chicken for an extra 20pp

special thanks to @hppzz and kim for the hospitality and hosting this event.

kyuri キュウリ

nice refreshing starter

soup 鳥スープ

intense chicken-y broth from all the chicken carcasses with chicken wontons and tokyo negi. highlight.

sasami (tenders)

loved the use of nori here. the tender was cooked with some of dylan’s excellent tare.

shiitake 椎茸

umami on a stick, I think this was cooked with schmaltz.

hatsu (hearts) ハツ

three different hearts all in one stick. special heart with all the ventricles and arteries at the bottom. skewer of the night?

teba x3 (wings/flats/drum)

fish sauce caramel drums. not too salty and perfect balance of sweet, salt and heat. > pok pok fish sauce wings. highlight.

that skin tent :heart_eyes:

okra オクラ

high heat = no slime

kashira (pork jowls) かしら

another skewer of the night. jowl can be way too rich but dylan’s didn’t taste overly fatty, negi was a nice complement.

mune shiso (breast shiso)

Dylan tried this out on us for the first time and damn another winner. that amish breast was perfectly cooked and was just elevated by the shiso and that slice of japanese processed cheese. skewer of the night.

tofu 有馬豆腐

Dylan’s play on mapo tofu with meiji tofu and ground chicken. highlight.