Anyone into sugar cane?

I’ve recently found myself energized and enthusiastic about the many varieties of sugar cane distillates. I stumbled onto some Haitian Clairin, which led me to some Mexican rums and, of course, the Jamaican funky stuff.

I’m still a total novice, but I find these spirits extremely weird, exciting, and delicious and I feel like more people should be on board this train.

2 Likes

How random- I stopped by Ramirez Liquor in Pico Rivera today because I was in the neighborhood and hadn’t been to that location. I texted my brother (a bartender) a picture of some Oaxacan rum they had on the shelf asking what the deal was.

Apparently Mexican rum is something being pushed right now. He said he didn’t love the Urupan one he’s tried but wouldn’t mind trying the one in the picture. Oddly, it was on the shelf next to a bacanora and sotol so they all seem to be in a “miscellaneous” category right now (at least while shelf space is in short supply at that location).

From a broader point of view I recall him saying some years ago that rum is a fairly unregulated spirit internationally so it’s a bit wild west. My very loose understanding is that there may be established brands and standards, of course, but overall it’s more vague and there are also libations not labeled as rum that are basically the same type of liquor. I’m sure I’m getting more than a few things very wrong but it seems like an interesting corner of the booze world.

Also, I think I’ve said this before but Ramirez Liquor really is one of the best liquor stores we’ve found in LA. We don’t frequent a ton of them but they have an impressively wide and varying selection, especially for south of the border stuff.

4 Likes

Rhum agricole is distilled from sugar cane juice. Totally different flavor.

My favorite rum is Havana Club blanco. I used to get it in Mexico but haven’t found it there in a few years, only the aged ones.