Natural wines: threat or menace?

I will dissent. Wines that are marketed as “natural wines” are mostly inferior to normal “unnatural wines” (which are made quite naturally). Natural wines tend to taste like kombucha, or Belgian lambics. I have yet to taste a natural wine that conveys any characteristics of varietal or terroir. They all taste like wild, uncontrolled fermentation products. Why exactly, I don’t know; I am not an expert on the wine production process. There are many good “unnatural wine” producers who use native yeasts.

That’s a gross oversimplification.

Most mass-market wines are highly processed and to my taste whatever might have been interesting about them has been stripped out or covered up by filtering, additives, etc. Many, particularly reds, are overripe, overly alcoholic, flabby, and unbalanced. Losing my taste for such wines got me interested in the “natural” stuff.

Some percentage of wines, beers, and ciders spontaneously fermented without intervention are undrinkable to people who haven’t developed a taste for their weird flavors. I stopped buying Georgian whites by the bottle because I disliked so many of them, but I have friends who like them. Different strokes.

The practices of a small percentage of wineries that don’t market themselves as “natural” are similar to those of wineries that do. In many cases these wineries have been in the same family for generations and mostly stick to the ways they were doing things back in the day. Typically they have adopted some modern practices such as temperature control and judicious use of sulfur dioxide.

In some appellations and with some grape varieties, natural winemakers make some of the best wines, e.g. Pineau d’Aunis, Loire Cabernet Franc, Listán Prieto / Pais / Mission, Beaujolais / Gamay, the Jura, Grolleau.

7 Likes