October 2016 Weekend Rundown

Maybe we should have a weekday rundown …

In this thread or a new thread?

I wuz being facetious.

I thought you were serious and was briefly happy.

I never know where to post my weekday meals. I don’t want to start a new thread every time I have a good meal, I’m not good at the very-detailed, lots-of-perfect-photos kind of reviews.

Lunch at Jon & Vinny’s.

I had a lemonade to drink, no picture, but it’s an 8 ounce glass filled with crushed ice and about 5 ounces of lemonade. $4

SHAVED ZUCCHINI, ARUGULA, HAZELNUT, MEYER LEMON VINAIGRETTE, FENNEL, PEPATO 12.25

This was so refreshing and tasty. Except the fennel, that was tasteless and invisible. The lemon vinaigrette was spot-on, perfect balance of lemon and oil. The greens were crisp and super fresh. Looking at the salad, I thought it was over-dressed, but it wasn’t, each leaf was lightly and perfectly coated, no pool of dressing on the plate. I love a well-dressed salad. (Pepato I had to google, FYI, it’s a pecorino cheese. Sounds fancy, huh? :smirk:)

JERSEY MARINARA” 12.75
TOMATO, CRUSHED RED CHILI, GARLIC, OLIVE OIL, OREGANO, BASIL (NO CHEESE)

I really liked this pizza even though it had the thin, crispy crust that’s so trendy right now. The crust edges were chewy and buttery. I can’t imagine why you would need ranch sauce to dip them into. The pizza sauce itself was thick and paste-like, in a good way, and very tomatoey. I’ll ask for more oregano and less chili flakes next time, it was pretty spicy.

Per request, a photo of the underside of the pizza

Love that char.

Wood-burning grill, right between the pizza oven and stove.

How cool is that?! I was sitting at the counter and watching everyone prep for tonight, it was about 3ish, so it was pretty empty. And the music was not loud gangsta rap, it was medium-volume lame eighties pop music. Good vibe, everyone seems to like their job. :slight_smile: